Saturday, November 6, 2010

Review: ...Featuring Norah Jones

...Featuring Norah Jones is a wonderful collaboration of songs that include duets with music legends such as Ray Charles, Willie Nelson and Dolly Parton.  Other famous artist, such as the Dirty Dozen, Foo Fighters and Outkast join in with Jones on this album.

The album begins with Love Me, a duet Jones sings with The Little Willies and wraps up with Blue Bayou (yes, Blue Bayou).   The music selection is excellent (see track listing below).  Norah Jones fans won't be disappointed.  Her sultry voice shows such versatility with the various artists with whom she performs, from jazz, to hip-hop, to country.  But don't be mistaken, the album is filled with the mellow sounds Jones is known for.  Realistically, there is only one song on the album I don't care for, and it is not because of Jones' performance, but rather my own personal musical taste.  It is hard for me to choose which song is my favorite because there are so many.  She has chosen and excellent track of songs to perform as you can see below

Tracks include:

1. Love Me – The Little Willies
2. Virginia Moon – The Foo Fighters featuring Norah Jones
3. Turn Them – Sean Bones featuring Norah Jones
4. Baby It's Cold Outside – Willie Nelson featuring Norah Jones
5. Bull Rider – Norah Jones and Sasha Dobson
6. Ruler Of My Heart – Dirty Dozen Brass Band featuring Norah Jones
7. The Best Part – El Madmo
8. Take Off Your Cool – OutKast featuring Norah Jones
9. Life Is Better – Q-Tip featuring Norah Jones
10. Soon The New Day – Talib Kweli featuring Norah Jones
11. Little Lou, Prophet Jack, Ugly John – Belle & Sebastian featuring Norah Jones
12. Here We Go Again – Ray Charles featuring Norah Jones
13. Loretta – Norah Jones featuring Gillian Welch and David Rawlings
14. Dear John – Ryan Adams featuring Norah Jones
15. Creepin' In – Norah Jones featuring Dolly Parton
16. Court & Spark – Herbie Hancock featuring Norah Jones
17. More Than This – Charlie Hunter featuring Norah Jones
18. Blue Bayou – Norah Jones featuring M. Ward

...Featuring Norah Jones will be released by EMI’s Blue Note Records on November 16th, 2010.  For additional information, check out these links.

*  YouTube: 
*  Link to Preorder on Amazon:

Disclosure:  As a member of One2One Network, I received a copy of this CD for review purposes.  I received no compensation for this review. The views expressed in this review are my honest opinions. 

1 comment:

Petula said...

I like your review. Funny how similar we think.

Google Analytics